From the social chair: the SocialMedia.org Brand Summit

SM.org brand summit

This past week I had the privilege of presenting a “How To” class at the inaugural SocialMedia.org Brand Summit. (Quick background: SocialMedia.org is a professional organization that consists of client side professionals from big brands that are in charge of social media at their respective companies.) Even though the organization hosts quarterly mini-conferences, this was their first attempt at an annual gathering, and they were kind enough to ask me to participate as a speaker.

Aside from my presentation, I got to sit through some terrific sessions along with an entertaining keynote session featuring the one-and-only Tyra Banks. I was especially proud of my home state after getting to watch Twin Cities smarties Greg Gerik from 3M and Kevin Hunt from General Mills do their thing. Greg shared his experiences with  measurement and analytics while Kevin discussed how his team handles content strategy for a company that is home to a broad base of brands.

My “How To” class was about how brands should think about integrating social media into their marketing and advertising efforts. Instead of focusing on my work at Best Buy, I instead decided to share five themes I have observed which are enabling brands to have success in the market place. I also decided to have some fun with the presentation by taking a tongue-in-cheek approach of comparing bad social media strategy to mad libs. If you were able to attend the conference and see me present in person, then I would like to thank you for taking the time to do so. If you weren’t able to be there, then feel free to check out the presentation below — I’d love to hear your feedback.

Leave a Reply

