another reminder about how it really is about the experiences we share together

Hope

When I started the blog a couple months back, my intent was to keep things going and try to write a post each week.  I try my best to work ahead and keep a running list of topics that I’m considering.  However it’s been pretty rough for me and my family the last few days and I wasn’t sure if I was going to get something out this week.  And writing about something that was evenly slightly related to work has been on the outskirts of my mind.

Without getting into too many of the details, my father has been battling some health issues the last few months and things came to a head over the weekend.  While in the hospital for some tests and procedures, he suffered a traumatic incident and ended up in the ICU.  Not knowing how things were going to turn out, I hopped into my car in Minneapolis on short notice and made the trek to Kansas City.  Over the last three-plus days things have taken a positive turn and we are developing some optimism.

On the drive down here, I couldn’t help but think about some of my favorite experiences with my father.  We really love doing things together that revolve around music, sports and travel.  While taking that mental trip down memory lane, several things popped out:

Thinking about all these wonderful memories it became clear to me that these were all about shared context.  They were experiences that were not only personally important to us individually but ones that were made even better by sharing them together.  And when you think about it, isn’t this what really drives relationships?  Or taking it a step further, doesn’t this really drive the idea of community?  Shared context…that is rooted in emotion.  It’s hard to beat that.

These are pretty obvious lessons for brands and marketers.  (I’m not going to take this too far in that direction – frankly I’m too mentally and emotionally worn out to be wearing my professional hat for very long at the moment.)  Brands don’t always intend to steer clear of the emotional connections with customers, but it’s just so much easier to be transactional.  Focus on price.  Offer deals.  Appeal to the lowest common denominator.  But really, how personal is that?  Why and how does that create a relationship, let alone a lasting one?  And with that as a focus, why should consumers really care beyond just the actual purchase itself?

I wanted to take the time to jot down some thoughts – not only to keep the rhythm of my blog going but also to distract myself a bit with everything that is happening.  I’m going to leave it there for now on the marketing and personal fronts – I don’t want to keep looking backwards.  Not now.  Instead it’s time to focus on going forward, riding the momentum and supporting my family through this stretch.

(photo courtesy of Creative Commons license: Pol Sifter.)

3 thoughts on “another reminder about how it really is about the experiences we share together

  1. Jamie, What a great post. So relevant and so true on both the professional and personal front. I am glad your father’s prognosis is looking more promising. And I am glad you were able to account for all of those special memories. I am sure there will be many more for you guys to share.Heather

  2. Having known you from the moment you were born and and being an unoffical godparent I have to tell you how proud I am of you today. I’m so touched by your post. You and your family share such a special bond. I’ve always known how close you were to your parents but this post just puts into words that special feeling!Thanks for sharing and taking the time. I’m really glad that your Dad is improving. Keep up the good work, Stan.Sandy

  3. MAKING MEMORIES ARE WHAT LIFE’S ABOUT…SOUNDS LIKE YOU HAVE MANY WONDERFUL ONES THAT NO ONE CAN TAKE FROM YOU NO MATTER WHAT HAPPENS. IT WAS GREAT SEEING YOU. I’M SURE YOUR DAD GOT AN EXTRA BURST OF ENERGY WITH THAT SPECIAL JAM IE AND STEVE "SHOT". I HOPE YOU CONTINUE TO MAKE WONDERFUL MEMORIES.SHALOM,EILEEN

Leave a Reply

