My personal thank you to word-of-mouth marketing

Kia

Two things collided for me in a very good way this past week. One: I’ve been in the market for a new car and recently decided it was time to pull the trigger.  The old ’99 Jetta had served me well, but it was getting time to move on.  Two: I’m a big advocate about the impact of word-of-mouth (WOM) marketing.  I’ve been in a position where I have gotten to work on word-of-mouth focused projects in my gig and even had the opportunity to present a case study at a conference for the Word-of-Mouth Marketing Association.

After researching and test driving several models over the course of the last few months, I finally selected the make and model I wanted.  The beginning part of last week I negotiated a price with a dealer and then made arrangements to pick up my new car this past Thursday evening.  (Keep that day in mind.)

I had intended to get my old car cleaned up and ready to sell sometime the week of August 1st.   Believe me, it needed some TLC before it was ready to be staged.  A car detailing was on the horizon.

But a funny thing happened: the power of word-of-mouth.  My wife had taken some pictures of our car buying experience for her daily photo blog.  In it she talked about what it was like when we picked up the new vehicle and how we planned on selling my old Jetta in the days to come.  Jokingly, she mentioned that readers of her blog could get a discount on the car if they were interested.  Separately, my wife also tweeted about her blog post that day and called out the “deal” we were running.

So keeping track now of what transpired Thursday night: a new car was purchased; a blog entry was posted; and a tweet was published.

By lunchtime on Friday, I already had two very interested buyers for the Jetta.  Sight unseen.  Without even having read a description of the vehicle.  Without having seen a picture of it.  All from those two simple forms of communication.

Friday night I worked quickly to get the car ready for the prospective buyers.  By Saturday morning, the Jetta was sold.

One blog. One tweet. Less than 48 hours between buying the new car and selling the old one.  Boom – word-of-mouth in all its glory.  It was absolutely fantastic.

(Photo courtesy of Shuttersmack Photography + Design.)

3 thoughts on “My personal thank you to word-of-mouth marketing

Leave a Reply

